The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

In the article , Dr.karp avidly states that his team of graduate will establish accurate understanding of rearing traditions. His confidence came from that fact that his teams interview centered method is unique. However, the conclusion drawn by the anthropologists might hold water,it rest on various unwarranted assumptions, if not sustained, dramatically weakens the persuasiveness of the argument.Before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, two questions must be answered.

Firstly, what if Dr.Karp interviewed group of children who were brought up differently? This might be the case that he interviewed a heretic group.That particular group might have been brought up by their biological parents different from others.As an instance, we can look around our surroundings. Each family has a unique style of raising up kids.No judgement can be made about the method as this is a personal preference.So, if the above stated scenario has merit, the conclusion drawn in the argument weakens.

Secondly, what if Dr. Karp's method of interview proves insufficient. In the article he asserted that his team of graduates will be able to establish a better understanding of rearing traditions.This not certain that his team will succeed surely.Experimental based methods are unpredictable.Until the results comes out, its accuracy cant be decided.If the above is true,the argument doesn't hold water.

In conclusion,the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to reliance on several unwarranted assumptions.If the author is able to answer two questions above and offer evidence,then it will be possible to fully evaluate the validity of the proposed recommendation that Dr. karps team will succeed.