The following appeared in a business magazine.

"As a result of numerous complaints of dizziness and nausea on the part of consumers of Promofoods tuna, the company requested that eight million cans of its tuna be returned for testing. Promofoods concluded that the canned tuna did not, after all, pose a health risk. This conclusion is based on tests performed on samples of the recalled cans by chemists from Promofoods; the chemists found that of the eight food chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The chemists did find small amounts of the three remaining suspected chemicals but pointed out that these occur naturally in all canned foods."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

In the given article, the author argues that Promofoods tuna has no risk on consumers’ health even though there have been a number of complaints of dizziness and nausea among the people who have eaten their products. However, the argument is flawed for numerous reasons, as it relies upon unwarranted assumptions.

Firstly, based on the result of the investigation, which was conducted by the chemists who work for Promofoods, the author claims innocuousness of Promofoods tuna. However, the author hastily assumes that the chemists hired by Promofoods must be levelheaded. Even though this might be the case, it is also possible that chemists from Promofoods are biased and neglected salient experiment results that indicate the risk of Promofoods tuna. Therefore, to robust the argument, the it should be asked that whether the chemists from Promofoods are credible or that if other chemists would draw the same result if they are not hired by Promofoods.

Secondly, even if the assumption above is somehow guaranteed to be true, the author hastily unreasonably assumes that those eight chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea are the only possible reason of the consumers’ symptoms. However, the author provides no adequate explain how the potential problem causing chemicals have been narrowed down to those only eight. It is possible that it is a recently found chemical that caused problem, or it may be other chemical that are not widely known for causing such symptoms. Thus, without considering if any other chemicals, the author cannot simply argue that Promofoods tuna has no problem.

Lastly, even conceding that those eight chemicals are the only options, the author does not provide adequate information regarding those three chemicals found in the sampled Promofoods tuna cans. It is assumed that small amounts of those three chemicals must be completely innocuous just because they are naturally occurred in all canned foods. However, it is not provided that how long it normally takes those chemicals to produce in canned foods and that whether other companies prevent those chemicals occurrence by setting expiry dates. It is possible that those people experienced the symptoms of dizziness and nausea after intake of Promofoods tuna because the expiry date had been set too long enough to allow those deleterious chemicals to produce in cans. To make the argument more cogent, the author should ask if there was any difference in handling and managing tuna cans between Promofoods and other can foods companies.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and therefore it is dubious. In order to evaluate the value of the argument, it is essential to carefully consider the questions suggested above.