The following appeared in a business magazine.

"As a result of numerous complaints of dizziness and nausea on the part of consumers of

Promofoods tuna, the company requested that eight million cans of its tuna be returned for

testing. Promofoods concluded that the canned tuna did not, after all, pose a health risk. This

conclusion is based on tests performed on samples of the recalled cans by chemists from

Promofoods; the chemists found that of the eight food chemicals most commonly blamed for

causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The

chemists did find small amounts of the three remaining suspected chemicals but pointed out

that these occur naturally in all canned foods."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to

decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure

to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

The author concludes that the canned tuna of Promofoods did not pose a health risk. The conclusion is mainly based on that the chemists performed tests on samples of the recalled cans and found that of the eight food chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans, while small amounts of the three remaining were found but they occur naturally in all canned foods. Nevertheless, some questions should be addressed before the author proves the validity of the argument.

The author mentions that the chemists reported that five of the eight food chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea were not found in any of the tested cans. However, he fails to prove the reliability of the chemists’ reports as well as the representativeness of the samples without some questions being answered. Did the chemists actually tell the whole truth? Not exactly. In all likelihood, they may conceal the real results of the test due that they are enforced by the company to lie. It is also possible that the real results may jeopardize the reputation of the company , which may engender it to confront the trust crisis, so the chemists choose to conceal the truth in case of the bankruptcy of the company. In addition, can the samples tested be representative of all canned tuna? It is not ascertained that the samples are randomly selected. It is totally probable that the samples are deliberately selected from the ones that were proved to be harmless in the previous tests, thus it is impossible to draw any conclusions about the general condition of them merely by the results from these dubious samples. Therefore, answering the aforementioned questions might more defensibly reinforce the argument.

The author also demonstrates that small amount of the three harmful food chemicals were found in the tests but they occur naturally in all canned foods, and infers that they cannot cause dizziness and nausea. However, this result, in itself, cannot sufficiently substantiate the inference without some questions being addressed. The exact amount of them and the general standard of these chemicals’ amount are not provided. It is entirely possible that the canned tuna of Promofoods contains ten milligram these chemicals, while in the ones from other companies, their amount is only one milligram, which means that the amount of the chemical is, though small, excessive compared to the general amount in the market. Hence, the argument is unjustifiable without some questions being addressed.

On the basis that the results of the tests are reliable and the tuna cannot cause dizziness and nausea, it is still hasty for the author to conclude that the canned tuna of Promofoods did not pose a health risk. Even though the cans are irrelevant with dizziness and nausea, they are also likely to be responsible for some other health problems, such as obesity. It is also probable that they contain excessive additives and preservatives, which can also post health risk. Therefore, without some questions being addressed, the author fails to substantiate his conclusion.

To sum up, although the conclusion may be comprehensive, some questions need to be addressed. Had the author delivered more answers to the questions, the conclusion and the whole argument might be more defensible.