The following appeared in a business magazine.

"As a result of numerous complaints of dizziness and nausea on the part of consumers of Promofoods tuna, the company requested that eight million cans of its tuna be returned for testing. Promofoods concluded that the canned tuna did not, after all, pose a health risk. This conclusion is based on tests performed on samples of the recalled cans by chemists from Promofoods; the chemists found that of the eight food chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The chemists did find small amounts of the three remaining suspected chemicals but pointed out that these occur naturally in all canned foods."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

The conclusion arrived at by Promofoods that their canned tuna did not pose any health risk is sceptical. they supported the conclusion with the result from the test performed on samples of recalled canned foods by their chemists. However, there are about three questions that need to be answered in order to decide whether the conclusion and the arguments that it depends on are logical.

Firstly, where are the eight million cans returned for testing coming from? Perhaps, the company managed to recall the eight million cans from a particular region where the complaint of dizziness and nausea are very low. It is also possible that the eight million cans were not from the production batch that is the culprit of the problem. If any of the above cases is true, the conclusion will be flawed. Providing an answer to the question will help to evaluate the argument and clear any doubt from anyone with this line of reasoning.

Secondly, are there possibilities of other possible causes of nausea and dizziness apart from the common causes in the cans tested? The argument only presented results for testing the most common causes of the symptoms of dizziness and nausea, without testing the presence of other possible causes. Perhaps, the cause of these effects on the consumers is a chemical that is not among the common causes but is also a viable known cause. Maybe a new chemical that the chemists are not aware of is recently causing the issues. If we have any of the above cases to be true, the argument will hold no water. Providing an answer to this question will preclude the possibility of using the above point to counter their conclusion in the future.

Thirdly, what is the level of sincerity on the part of the chemists? It is very possible that the chemists are from the research and development section of the company and are the ones that recommended the "improvement" that is currently causing the chaos(they will likely lie to protect their jobs). It is also possible that the company intimidated them to present the current result of the test. If any of the scenarios is true, then the conclusion will be based on fabrications. Answering the question will help to improve the credibility of the report provided.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for failing to address the following questions raised above. The company needs to come up with better evidence and also answer the three questions accurately to make its position a stronger one.