The following appeared in a business magazine.

"As a result of numerous complaints of dizziness and nausea on the part of consumers of Promofoods tuna, the company requested that eight million cans of its tuna be returned for testing. Promofoods concluded that the canned tuna did not, after all, pose a health risk. This conclusion is based on tests performed on samples of the recalled cans by chemists from Promofoods; the chemists found that of the eight food chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The chemists did find small amounts of the three remaining suspected chemicals but pointed out that these occur naturally in all canned foods."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The business magazine states that even though a numerous complaints were filed regarding dizziness and nausea for Promofoods canned tuna, but the firm stated that the canned tuna didn't posses any health risk. The assertion made by Promofoods has many underlying assumption which needs to be substantiated.

Firstly, Promofoods requested the withdrawal of 8 million canned tuna and performed tests on these products, and finally deduced that there is no health risk involved with them. But, there is no evidence provided regarding the quality and vigilance through which these tests were undertaken. Moreover, there is no evidence regarding the sampling of the canned tuna, how samples were taken for these tests? Maybe the test were performed in a rash manner, or might not been undertaken in a disinterested way to save the company's reputation. Similarly, regarding the sampling of the products, there is no information on the criteria on sampling. Maybe the products in some specific climate or environmental conditions like temperature or moisture showed these harmful traits. Thus, the sampling should be carried out taking into account different factors for the study to be consistent. Therefore, there are a lot of assumptions regarding the study carried out by Promofoods which needs to be substantiated to hold any water.

Secondly, the chemists responsible for the study of the canned tuna at Promofoods stated that eight chemicals are responsible for dizziness and nausea. But, what is the validity of this assertion? Can we just plainly generalise the cause of uneasiness without taking into account the other environmental and health factors of the consumers. Maybe the dizziness and nausea in caused among the people already suffering from an underlying health condition like obesity or diabetes. Thus, this assumption regarding the generalisation by the chemists at Promofoods needs to supplied with more concrete evidence to be considered valid.

Lastly, even if we take into account the generalisation made by chemists regarding the dizziness and nausea causing chemicals, there is no evidence provided that three chemicals found, and they naturally occur in canned foods. If this is the case, then the other canned foods should also cause similar health problems. And, what is the amount or quantity in which these chemicals are existing in the canned foods? Maybe in other products these chemicals occurs in a very small quantity, but in Promofoods cans these restraints regarding quantity are breached. Therefore, there is an assumption undertaken by chemists that these chemicals naturally exists in can foods, but no proof regarding the quantity is provided.

Conclusively, there are a lot of underlying assumptions existing in the study undertaken by the chemists at Promofoods which need to be supported with evidence.