The following appeared in a letter from the owner

of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its

manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first

three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex

were modified to restrict maximum water flow to onethird of what it used to be. Although actual readings

of water usage before and after the adjustment are

not yet available, the change will obviously result in a

considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation,

since the corporation must pay for water each month.

Except for a few complaints about low water

pressure, no problems with showers have been

reported since the adjustment. I predict that

modifying showerheads to restrict water flow

throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside

Towers complex will increase our profits even more

dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what

questions would need to be answered in order todecide whether the prediction and the argument on

which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain

how the answers to these questions would help to

evaluate the prediction.

The author predicts that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will help them dramatically gain more profits. The prediction is mainly based on that all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be and no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment other than a few complaints about low water pressure. However, some questions should be addressed before the author proves the validity of this prediction.

The author mentions that all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be one month ago and infers that the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation since the company must pay for water each month. Nevertheless, some questions should be addressed before the author validates this argument. In all likelihood, people may use the water for a longer time on account of the lower water pressure, which means that the water used might be even more than before. So the company has to pay more for the water used every month. What’s more, it is possible that the usage of water before the adjustment may be less than one-third of the maximum, so it is unnecessary to modify the showerheads. Hence, without actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment being offered, the argument cannot hold water.

The author also mentions that no problems with showers have been reported after the adjustment except for a few complaints about the low water pressure and deduces that this adjustment has no impacts on the residents living in the buildings. Apparently, behind the inference lies the assumption that all people who have problems with the showers after the adjustment will report their complaints to the company, which is tenuous under certain scenarios. It is entirely possible that they just did not complain to the company, but they might move to other areas, which is more severe than the complaints. Besides, it is also probable that the potential residents may not choose to live here after hearing about the low water pressure. Therefore, it is hasty to assume that the change of the showerheads has no effects on the residents. Addressing the aforementioned questions might more defensibly reinforce the argument.

On the basis that the usage of water has really diminished and the change of the showerheads has no impacts on the residents in the first three buildings, the author cannot justifiably conclude that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will help them dramatically gain more profits. Without addressing the following questions, the credibility of the conclusion cannot be proved. Will the residents throughout all twelve buildings have no complaints about the change of the water flow? Not exactly. It is highly possible that the residents in the rest nine buildings are more fastidious than the ones living in the first three buildings. So they are more likely to be unsatisfied with the smaller water flow. Besides, the profits is swayed by the cost and revenue, which means that the spending of changing the showerheads, such as the payment for the workers and the cost of the tools used when modifying the showerheads, should be taken into consideration. Hence, the profits may not be considerable as expected. Under these scenarios, the conclusion is unconvincing.

To sum up, although the conclusion may be comprehensible in some aspects, some questions should be addressed before the author substantiates the argument. Had the author delivered more answers to the questions, the conclusion and the whole argument might be more defensible.