Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The modern society has witnessed an increasing emphasis on the interrelationship and interdependence between several subjects which are diametrically different from each other. Then the majority of people, especially the experts or professors in certain fields, advocate the interdisciplinary education and oppose specializing in one specific subject. From my perspective, the statement raises valid points for attaching great significance to the combination of diverse subjects. However, I definitely disagree with the opinion that the benefits of comprehensive knowledge of various academic subjects outweigh the ones of specializing in one specific subject since the two things are equally important.

For starters, there is every reason to believe that the broad knowledge of diversified academic subjects is extremely significant. Actually, the emergence of numerous interdisciplinary industry requires people to be proficient in different fields. For instance, industrial design makes demands on the professional knowledge of material science, engineering as well as art design in order to improve the basic function and appearance of the products. The same can also hold for the neuroscience, which combines diversified subjects like Physiology, Psychology and mathematical modeling. With the specific skills in various fields, Neuroscience can be well applied to the interpretation of human beings' behaviors and mental health through the research on nerve. Therefore, the importance of interdisciplinary learning is undeniable.

However, we should avoid taking the statement to the extreme since dedicating in one specific area also deserves the supports. Many subjects, especially the chemistry and physics, require intense focus on the research. In this regard, we may refer to Madame Curie, one laureate of the Nobel Prize. Her enormous scientific research on radioactivity made her the first person honored with two Nobel Prize in Physics and Chemistry for her pioneering research on refining radium. Her unprecedented achievements owed much to her untiring efforts in the specific area. Hence, the importance of focusing on one subject should never be neglected.

In sum, the statement is unconvincing due to the equal importance of wide knowledge of various subjects and dedication in one specific subject.