Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study

that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling

reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The speaker asserts that educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will help them to secure lucrative careers. From my perspective, it is true that the students should consider their career prospects when they choose the fields they study in, However, it is hasty to claim that they should be all encouraged to merely choose majors which seem beneficial to their lucrative careers.

For starters, we shall admit that when the students make decisions regarding the fields they learn in, they should take the career prospects and the potential financial benefits into consideration. First, it is helpful for them to make a living with decent salaries in the near future. It is undeniable that some majors actually have excellent prospects, such as Computers and Laws, while some disadvantageous majors do exist, such as Philosophy and Archaeology which are likely to engender the jobless after they graduate. Many students cannot arbitrarily decide to study in one field without caring about whether it will prepare them for lucrative careers other than those who come from well-to-do families. Otherwise, it may impose heavy burden on their families due to the possible difficulties to seek for jobs. Hence, the statement raise valid points for claiming that the students should care about the financial factors when making such decisions.

However, we should avoid taking the statement to the extreme. Even though the financial factor is indispensable when the students choose their majors, we cannot absurdly conclude that the educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will be conducive to the lucrative careers without considering other factors. First, the students’ individual conditions, such as their interest and intelligence, are also indispensable when choosing majors. For instance, if they choose some popular majors like computers or laws while neglecting their own interest and intelligence, they may fail to gain satisfying scores in the examination due to the limitation of themselves. As a result, they may be discouraged by their poor condition in the study and reluctant to dedicate themselves to it. So they will not find lucrative jobs as their classmates due to the lack of professional knowledge in this field. Besides, none of us can ensure that the fields seem popular currently will be always advantageous when securing lucrative jobs. For example, the majors such as Translation and Economic are no longer as competitive in the job market as before. If the students choose the fields that seem popular currently while overlooking the other factors, once the fields are no longer popular, they might regret doing so.

What’s more, except for the career prospects and individual interest, whether can the students secure lucrative jobs is also decided by a myriad other factors, such as the ability and the condition of the labour market. As for the ability, it is not ascertained that the graduates will find lucrative jobs as long as they choose such fields without eligible competence. When the employers choose qualified candidates, the ability is a factor which must be considered. The students who have poor ability and insufficient professional skills may fail to find jobs, even though they choose popular fields. In addition, as for the condition of job market, if it has been saturated because too many students study in the same field, the graduates may face the extremely fierce competition in it. What’s worse, it may engender the disorder of the labour market, causing an uneven condition that some fields have been saturated while the others lack the labour force.

Overall, the statement raises valid points to some extent. However, it is too extreme in many aspects.