A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants

has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating

city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are

two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly

fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more

concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes

in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author predicts that the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be extremely popular and profitable. The prediction is mainly based on that a nationwide study has shown that two-income families, which are pervasive in Bay City, eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. To strengthen the prediction, the author also mentions that the consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Nevertheless, some specific proofs should be provided to better evaluate this argument.

The author mentions a 30 percent increase in the consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City during the past five years and infers that the data illustrates that the seafood is quite popular among the residents living in Bay City. Nonetheless, this inference is vulnerable to counterarguments due to the lack of credence. In all likelihood, it is the rapid increase of population that resulted in the increasing consumption of seafood. Maybe other kind of food has a more dramatic increase in their consumption, which means that the sea food is likely to be the least popular food in Bay City. Besides, the reliability of the vague data is questionable. It is totally possible that even if the consumption experienced a 30 percent increase, it is still little on account of the poor former consumption. Hence, for lack of details concerning the base amount and the consumption of other kinds of food, we can hardly assess that 30 percentage is an obvious climb and represents the popularity of seafood.

The author also demonstrates a nationwide study which has shown that two-income families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Basing on the research, the author deduces that the pervasive two-income families in Bay City are in the same condition. However, the study, in itself, cannot sufficiently prove the validity of this argument. Can the research conducted in the whole country really represent the condition in Bay City? Not exactly. It is entirely probable that the standard of living in Bay city is far below than the average level in the country, which means that people here may choose to have meals at home frequently to save money. Additionally, even if people involved in the study express more concern about healthful eating, they may not actually eat healthily all the time. It is possible that they fail to resist the temptation of junk food, though they claimed that they they prefer healthy meals. Therefore, some specific proofs should be offered to reinforce the argument.

On the basis that seafood is actually popular in Bay City, it is still far-fetched to conclude that the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood will gain numerous profits. It is probable that the taste of the dishes in the new restaurant as well as the service provided there may be unsatisfying, which means that people may be reluctant to eat there. Besides, the profits is swayed by the revenue and expenditure, which means that the rent fee, the payment for workers and the spending of material should be taken into consideration. Consequently, the eventual profits may not be dramatic as expected. Some further evidence should be afforded to substantiate the conclusion.

Overall, although the conclusion might be true in some aspects, some specific proofs should be released to better evaluate the argument. In that case, the conclusion and the whole argument might be more reasoning and convincing.