A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood Moreover the majority of fami

In the prompt, the author posits that a new seafood restaurant, Captain Seafood, would be successful in Bay City. He rationalizes his assumption by citing a recent study that found an increase in consumption of seafood dishes at local restaurants as well as a nationwide study of putatively similar households as those found in Bay City which. While it is plausible that the author’s suggestion might ultimately prove reasonable, he should adduce three pieces of further evidence in order to bolster the validity of his argument.

First, the author should provide evidence that the cited 30 percent increase in seafood dish consumption in area restaurants is indeed significant. Perhaps the overall Bay City restaurant-going population has grown 300 percent, in which case a 30 percent increase in seafood dish consumption might actually represent an overall decline in the popularity of seafood. Or if, for example, five years ago, only 10 seafood dishes were ordered each year across the entire city, and now that number has risen to 13, then that 30 percent increase would hardly warrant constructing an entire seafood restaurant. Without evidence that the increase found in the recent sales study is substantially significant, then his assumption that a seafood restaurant would be profitable rests on shaky ground.

Additionally, the author should prove that the nationwide study mentioned is representative of Bay City residents. It is possible that, unlike families surveyed nationally, the majority of Bay City families prefer to cook most of their meals at home despite being dual-income households. For instance, maybe one of those incomes tends to be from a part-time job in Bay City, allowing that partner to cook dinner at home on a regular basis. Or perhaps the majority of Bay City residents identify with a different culture than the households surveyed nationally and actually have extended relatives living together as one family. In this case, the majority of Bay City households could have two adults working full time to support the entire household financially, while other adults such as grandparents remain at home and attend to domestic duties such as cooking meals for everyone. It would behoove the author to demonstrate that the nationwide study regarding families’ meal preferences is applicable to Bay City.

Even if the nationwide study can be determined to adequately represent Bay City households, the author ought to give evidence that the proposed Captain Seafood restaurant would, in fact, be popular and therefore profitable. If, for instance, people do prefer “healthful eating” as the nationwide study suggests, yet the proposed Captain Seafood restaurant specializes in unhealthy seafood options such as breaded, fried fish, then consumers may find it unappealing and choose to dine elsewhere. Similarly, Captain Seafood might be unpopular due to focusing solely on seafood if families prefer to eat at restaurants offering wide varieties of dishes on the menus to suit the individual tastes of all diners in the group. The author would be wise to elaborate on why Captain Seafood would be an appropriate match for the dining preferences in Bay City.

To conclude, although the author’s assertion that a Captain Seafood restaurant would be popular and profitable in Bay City might hold true in the end, his position is currently hindered by several assumptions. He could enhance the persuasiveness of his argument by providing the three pieces of additional evidence outlined above.