Some people like to buy and eat their meals at restaurants frequently while some others like to eat at home.

Which do you prefer? Why?

The modern society has witness a dramatic progress in economy during the past several decades, which has extremely improved people’s living standard. A considerable number of people may choose to have meals at restaurant due to its convenience, while taking into account the expenditure, the vast majority of people are more willing to eat at home. From my perspective, I would rather cook meals at home than eat outside.

Admittedly, numerous people prefer to have their meals outside due to the urgent need for saving time. Modern people are tied up in a fast-paced life and feel overwhelmed. The white-collar class, in particular, has been deprived of time with adequate rest due to tight schedule, not to mention cook by themselves. That’s why an increasing number of people have to eat at restaurant. For instance, an investigation conducted by the New York Times has brought out that over seventy percent of white-collar workers have lunches outside on account of the limited break time. Hence, the aforementioned reasons may account for a part of the reasons why more people eat outside.

However, if I were the decision-maker, I would prefer to cook meals at home since it exerts a positive impact on my physical health. If we frequently have meals at restaurants, the excessive additives and even gutter cooking oil contained in the food may be extremely detrimental to our health. By contrast, if we have meals at home, we will give top priority to the healthy and safe ingredients, which is certainly conducive to our health. In addition, it is entirely probable that the dishes sold in restaurants are made of stale ingredients and also contain high calories, which may increase the rate of obesity. Conversely, the food cooked by ourselves are more healthy because we will pay much attention to buy fresh and low-fat ingredients. Therefore, eating at home can lead us a healthier life.

What’s more, it will also be more economical for us to cook our meals at home. Although people generally have higher payments currently, the high salary is often accompanied by high price of everything, thus people need to make an effort to allocate their income appropriately. The expenditure of rent, medical service as well as education should all be taken into consideration. Otherwise, they may fail to make ends meet. However, eating outside in a daily basis may occupy a considerable proportion of their income since the restaurant has to gain profits. So it is the most cost-efficient for them to eat at home. Then they can spend more money on other meaningful things, such as travelling or getting further education. Hence, eating at home can help relieve people’s heavy financial burden.

To sum up, even though many people are preferable to eat outside because of their intense schedule, I am in favor of cooking meals at home due to the healthy and economic factors.