The main benefit of the study of history is to

dispel the illusion that people living now are

significantly different from people who lived in earlier

times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to

which you agree or disagree with the statement and

explain your reasoning for the position you take. In

developing and supporting your position, you should

consider ways in which the statement might or mightnot hold true and explain how these considerations

shape your position.

The speaker asserts that the main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living in the current days are dramatically different from people who lived in the past. While the statement raises some valid points, it is still too extreme.

We shall admit that people living currently are the same to the ones living in the past in some aspects. Some personalities and humanities are consistent, no matter how dramatically the world has changed. For instance, the evil personalities like selfish, sloth and greedy as well as some merits like kindness and compassion are always unchanged. Besides, the nature of pursuing better lives will not disappear as time goes on. Fr example, the desire for democracy and freedom exists all the time. That’s why some radical revolts, such as the movement which engender Civil Rights Act and some feminism movements, may emerge when people feel discriminated. Under these scenarios, the difference between people in the earlier times and the current ones can be considered as illusion.

However, we should avoid taking the statement to the extreme. The disparities between people in the past and the ones nowadays do exist in most aspects. Firstly, there are a myriad of changes in the morality aspect. For example, the status of women has significantly changed. They are submissive to the males in the past while independent nowadays. Besides, the lifestyle has also greatly changed. People could merely communicate with others by writing letters in the past, while they can keep in touch with others by sending e-mails and messages in the current days. It also holds for the changes of the traffic tools. They mostly went out by horse and buggy in the past while use automobiles nowadays. Therefore, it is hasty to regard the great changes from the past to the current days as illusion.

What’ more, it is also tenuous to argue that the main function of the study of history is to dispel the illusion of the difference between the past days and nowadays. The main benefit of the history study is to help us deal with current problems. For instance, Warsaw’s kneel represents that German concedes the mistakes. And the leader of the country may avoid making similar mistakes once committed through this history. And Joan of Arc, a selfless woman who showed her patriotism in the war, has taught<span style="font-size: 1.1em;"> us that we should always make our contributions to our countries. Hence, the two examples both </span>demonstrate<span style="font-size: 1.1em;"> that the main benefit of the history is to help us tackle the current problems and avoid making similar mistakes once committed.</span><br>

Overall, even though some characters are unchanged from the past to now, there are still numerous changes as time going, and the main benefits of the study of history is the help to our lives nowadays rather than dispelling the illusion mentioned in the statement.