People who are the most deeply committed to an

idea or policy are also the most critical of it.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to

which you agree or disagree with the statement and

explain your reasoning for the position you take. In

developing and supporting your position, you shouldconsider ways in which the statement might or might

not hold true and explain how these considerations

shape your position.

The speaker asserts hat people who are the most deeply committed to an idea or policy are also the most critical of it. This statement raises valid points in some aspects, while under most circumstances, it is too extreme since there are also many people support the opinions they insist on.

For starters, it is true that some people may be most critical of the ideas they insist on because these rational beings would evaluate their own views from all possible angles before reaching a firm commitment. For instance, in education area, John Dewey, an educationist who was an entire advocate of the quality education, found that his uncritical support might not hold water in eastern Asia after he had been to this region for a deeper investigation. Because the students there are fully adopted to the exam- oriented education due to the rigid form of examination, while the entire quality education might be improper there. Consequently, John Dewey reconsidered his opinion and then transformed his former idea to another one which combined these two forms of education. It can also be said for the biologic, the change of the attitudes to clone can be taken as a good example. When clone was first introduced, the biologists regarded this technology as treasure. Nevertheless, when they received condemnation on morality, they discovered that this technology may bring about many daunting troubles, so they eventually discontinued the research on it. Both of the aforementioned examples demonstrate that the statement mentioned in the beginning of this passage is tenable to some extent.

However, we should avoid taking it to the extreme. People may maintain the ideas they are most committed to as long as the validity of the opinions has been proved. In the technical area, Steve Jobs, the tycoon who established the Apple business, fully devoted himself to the innovation of iPhone and can be seen as the precursor of the most advanced technology of smart phones. Certainly, he has always unflinchingly supported his idea no matter how unrealistic it seemed to be initially. There are many similar examples in the science area as well. For instance, Tu Youyou, an outstanding scientist who was the laureate of the Nobel Prize, committed herself to the research for several years and discovered artemisinin which can be used to treat malaria, is the proponent of her idea all the time. Therefore, people will support the ideas they insist on if the ideas are substantiated.

Overall, the statement is convincing under certain circumstances, while it may be far-fetched when it is taken to the extreme.