People who are the most deeply committed to an idea or policy are also the most critical of it.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Each individual differs in how one perceives the results of their efforts should be; some people want perfection in their work while some just compromise with mediocrity. The choice is completely subjective. The prompt suggests that people that are most devoted towards an idea or policy are also the ones that are most critical of it. I mostly agree with the prompt and will elucidate my position with three reasons.

The person that foment the idea or a policy think very thoroughly, the need for such an idea or a policy, and what problem it is solving. He is the best person to decide how this particular idea or policy should be implemented and hence, is most critical of it, as the consequences of his work can affect others considerably. For example, Mahatma Gandhi uses the idea of non-violence in their protest against the Britishers, as a means to show their protest. With that notion, he started a Non-Cooperation movement, with the aim of gaining India the independence. The movement was successful in attracting masses, and millions join the movement and protest peacefully. When the movement was its peak, a violent incident broke out in a village where the protestors turn to violent means and burn down the police station. Outraged and shocked by the violent incident, he immediately withdrawal the movement as it was against the very idea that started the movement in the first place i.e., non-violence.

Moreover, some people take their job as their passion and want everything to be perfect. And for being perfect, you have to be your biggest critic. For example, the movie The Titanic’s director James Cameron was suggested by an astronomer that the positions of the stars in the final scenes of the movie were incorrect. To anyone else, this doesn’t make any difference. But James Cameron, while making the 3D version of the movie, takes the extra effort to make sure that in the final cut of the 3D version, the star position should be exactly as it should be astronomically. This is called perfection, and only those who take the responsibility of their work can do such acts.

However, for some people, the end result of an idea or a policy may be different, it could be related to money. Like, if someone wants to make a movie for just the commercial aspect of it and does not care about the script, acting, etc. He may use the same old successfully tested formulae for it, is not really critical about his work. For such people, the objective is different, and therefore, they are not critical of their work.

In conclusion, one’s evaluation of their work is totally dependent on the individual; therefore, some could be the biggest critic of their work while some maybe not. The individual reaction is highly subjective.