Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been

admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning

for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the

possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape

your position.

The speaker asserts that governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who is incapable of paying the tuition. From my perspective, the statement raise valid points for claiming that when the students cannot afford the tuition, the governments are obligatory to provide financial support to them. However, it is too extreme to assert that they should offer a free university education to all this kind of students.

For starters, providing free university education to students who pass the university entrance examination but cannot afford tuition do bring about a myriad of benefits. It can incubate elites for the nation, such as the scientists and high-tech elites. For example, Yuan Longping, an outstanding scientist in China, was once subsidized by the country to study in the Beijing University. After he graduated, he dedicated himself to tackling the starvation issue for several years. Eventually, he managed to produce hybrid rice, which dramatically alleviated the starvation and famine in the impoverished countries. If he had not acquired the patronage from the government, such an elite may not be discovered and cannot make his contribution to the nation. Also, Yu Minhong, an eminent entrepreneur, can also be taken as an example. He got free education in Qinghua university, which laid the foundation for him to establish the biggest and the most profitable English education enterprise. Both of them can prove that the governments’ financial support to the students can bring about numerous benefits.

However, never can we take the statement to the extreme. Even though it is beneficial in many aspects, the feasibility and the negative impacts it may exert should be taken into consideration. First, if the government funds are limited or even inadequate, it is not reasonable to offer free university education to all the students who cannot afford tuition. Under this scenario, the government should allocate its budget evenly to all basic facilities rather than merely education. For instance, there are so many areas where need the government funds, such as the medical care, the transportation, the pension and so forth, that government should not only care about university education and allocates its funds unevenly to it, especially when the country’ economic is in a poor condition. Moreover, the free education is likely to cause some negative effects. For example, the students may not cherish the chance of studying without being charged. People always dismiss the things for free, thus the students may not study hard. As a result, they cannot make contributions to the society and the financial support to them is just a waste of money.

Overall, it is true that governments should give financial support to the students who have been admitted to the university but cannot afford the tuition.however, the statement is too extreme for claiming that governments should offer such support to all this kind of students.