Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Education is one of the basic rights of the citizens of a nation. With the increasing modernization, the number of schools, colleges and universities is increasing rapidly. Instead of having enough options to study in, not everyone can afford the expense of education which becomes even more higher if one desires to study in a comparatively better institute. As a result education comes to an end after college to the insolvent students. But I disagree with the statement that governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted but unable to afford the tuition for two particular reasons.

First of all, if a country has a lower GDP, it may happen that a lot of people lives below the poverty line who are not even able to afford money for their food or clothes. So it is obvious that they will not be able to afford their higher education in spite of having high penchant for it. On the other hand, a government of a country with lower GDP has a lot of sectors to focus on for the ultimate development of the country. Providing allowance for tuition to every student willing and unable to pay for their education may result as a hindrance to the development in other essential sectors. In the African countries people live below the poverty line. It is not possible for the government to offer fund to every student for university education. So the idea of offering free university study fell short here.

Additionally, if government offers allowance to every student willing to continue university education, people may take advantage of this by doing forgery leading to ultimate destruction in the development of the country. People hardly having money to eat food or live in may take the advantage of the situation by making false document to extract more money from government as allowance which will have a negative effect in the moral character of the next generation.

Some may argue that not offering free tuition to the insolvent students may result in economical destruction in the long term case. But yet, development in other sectors is even more important to save the country from even worse situation. However, government may take steps to arrange some examinations to find out the students who have high potentials but in capable of paying the tuition fees and offer free education to them. From the discussion above, it is clear that providing stipend to every insolvent student can never be a solution.