Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The premise states that as unmanned space probes and satellites are capable of producing useful information, resources should be invested in unmanned space flight as sending men and women into space is costly and risky as well. Though the statement looks practically logical, but to evaluate the argument properly, questions must be answered.

First of all, the premise states that manned space flight costs more and possesses more risks, but the statement does not clarify which sectors need more cost and risk that is optimized in the unmanned space flights. Again, it says 'unmanned' space flight does not involve much cost and risk, but it is not clarified from the premise if the unmanned flights had other animals as its passenger. We have seen how science uses innocent animals in its research. "Laika", the first passenger of space flight was a dog who died in his journey to the space- can be an example of such selfish research.

Secondly, though the recent series of unmanned space probes have been able to send useful information, we can not assume that the situation will be in favor for ever. Because the statement does not specify if the unmanned space flights faced any risk factors during their journey. If the unmanned space probes have not encountered any difficulty that requires human expertise to resolve, it is possible that the unmanned flights were able to send necessary information. However, if the scene was not so, if the space flights had encountered such unexpected situation, it was likely that the space flight would be destroyed and would not be able to send any information.

If the author can answer the above mentioned questions properly and show enough evidence regarding these, the argument can be evaluated with proper consideration.