The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The premise indicate that instilling a sense of cooperation, rather than competition in the young people of a society is the best way to prepare them for leadership. Leadership capability of a person depends on a numerous factors such as having insight, proper judgement of right or wrong, strong principles etc. These factors are to be taught to the young generations to bring out the best leaders for the society. The statement enlightens us of the best way to do so, that is, instilling in them a sense of cooperation instead of competition. I agree to the statement for two reasons.

Firstly, a work-field which involves cooperative colleagues provides the workers with a healthy environment. This healthy and friendly environment helps them have a peaceful mind which is an essential part to be able to concentrate properly on the job they are assigned with . Cooperation does not necessarily indicate the comfortable relation among the employees only, rather a friendly atmosphere among the boss and the low tier employees also play a good role in creating a healthy environment. On the other hand, if the work place does not provide a good healthy environment, there may always be a state of chaos, tumult present among the colleagues affecting the mental peace of them proportionally. For example, when a new mother has to attend her job on urgent basis, she lives in a dilemma about where to keep the baby safely. Even if she attends office keeping the baby in daycare center or some other place, she will be still worried about it and fail to concentrate on her job. Again, If the work place assures her of a friendly environment and allows her to bring the toddler to work place, she may put full attention to her job as she does not have to worry about the baby. So a good knowledge on preserving the cooperation among the workers in a work place have no alternative.

Additionally, the best outcome or profit of a company comes when there lies a relation of cooperation among the workers. When a worker helps other worker with his job, try to solve his problem or suggest him a better solution to his problem, he may expect the same cooperation when in need of. Such cooperation leads to the highest production for the company, ultimately resulting in the greatest profit. Researches have shown that, companies offering the employees awards for their cooperation tend to have a greater annual profit than the companies that encourage competition among the employees.

However, some may argue that, competition in the work field increases the chance of production by having an urgency in the workers to do better than each other. But it has been seen from the past that, such competition frequently result in ugly fights which ultimately leads to a destructive conclusion. From the discussion above, it can be concluded that, instilling a sense of cooperation is the best way for the society to prepare the young generation for leadership.