The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Today, the increasing population is a major problem in the world. there are limited job opportunities for the people. therefore, unemployment is an immense problem prevailing in current time. The children are told to compete with others to become successful in their life. this sense of competition limits the output of society because people are less likely to cooperate with other competitors. therefore, I agree with the statement.

Firstly, the competition is major factor in day to day life. people live in a fear that their competitors would eliminate them from the competition. From childhood to elder age, people compete for many different things like from confirming place in reputed college to getting higher position in cooperation. therefore, they are less likely to help their colleagues in their problems. many time people try to defame them for their own benefits. The students will not teach their classmates in their problems because they feel that helping them is waste of time, rather they should focus on themselves rather than their friends. For example, in the period of appraisal people in the cooperate world might try to defame their colleagues by spreading canards which will harm their reputation.

Moreover, if the people try to defame others or do not help them, this will increase the tension between the people working together. they might become hostile to each other and they will not help each other in their problems. this will directly effect to the productivity of the firm. The productivity will decrease and time consumed by the workers in completing the assigned work will increase. therefore, the profit of the company will suffer a blow. therefore, cooperation is a must needed attribute in the firms, else the firm will fall short in competing to their rival companies.

For example, a team cannot win a football match if there is no cooperation between them. football is a game of teamwork. if the team won't play with cooperation they will not be able to take ball to the opposite side of the pitch to score goal. they will pass the ball to each other but if there is no cooperation between them, the other player will not be able to retrieve the pass and the team will give possession of the ball to the rival team.

However, a healthy competition is necessary among the people. competition will push the people to try harder. without competition, the people will think that they are unreplaceable, therefore they will work according to their will. this will also undermine the productivity of the firm or industry. For example, if the government has no strong opposition party, they will pass any bills without any opposition. The government will more likely to become like communist rather than democratic. therefore, a healthy competition is also required.

To sum up this, a healthy competition is required to bring the best out of the people and increase productivity. but pros of instilling cooperation in them will increase productivity and the environment will become more affable than before. people will feel freedom in asking others help. this will increase the productivity of the people in the firm.