The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper.

"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the passage, the editor of the parkville Daily newspaper states that the education experts advice to discontinue the athletic competitions for the children. The experts states that this competition are leading child to waste the time that should be invested in studies. however, there are certain flaws in this passage.

Firstly, the experts state that there are 40000 young players suffered from the injury. however there is no proof given to back this premise. also they have not stated how many players were competing in the league? In physical sports, it is certain that sometimes players get injured. In the competition where the people are competing to win, the people are enthusiastic to do whatever they can to win. In such zeal, the players sometimes get injured because they are passive to everything else then victory. therefore, unless this injury frequency is not much high than usual, this can not conclude that the parkville should stop the organization of the youth league.

Secondly, the passage suggests that the several big city children were interviewed. it was discovered that the parents and coaches put psychological pressure on them to win. however, the passage fails to state some important measures. For example, that how many children were interviewed? also they interviewed only major cities. that means they have not interviewed small town and other rural areas. so this study can not prejudice that the situation of children are same everywhere. so this study might not be enough to conclude that the youth league should be stoped.

Moreover, the passage suggests that the practice sessions take away the time that could be used in academic activities. however this premise neglects that children cannot study 24 hours. what if the students are investing their leisure time in the sports activity? what if the children want to make their career in the sports? Not all the children are studious. And also sports activities are important to youth. These sports also teach them many life lessons like teamwork. Hence, complete banishment of sports activity is not the right thing to do.

therefore, the passage fails to support the conclusion due to several flaws. The experts can not conclude to discontinue the youth league on the bases of the premise without any proof to support them. they should also take merits of such sports activity into account.