Taking a lot of time to make an important decision is often considered as a bad quality for a person, while some

people think that it is a good quality for a person. Which do you prefer?

Every one has to make numerous decisions during the whole life. Sometimes the decision is something that doesn’t matter, such as what to eat at lunch or which of dresses we should wear. By contrast, there are also a myriad of decisions which mean a lot to us, such as which job or major we should choose. From a practical point of view, some people may assert that it is ineffective for us to spending a long time making an important decision for the sake of time-efficiency. However, I definitely oppose this opinion since it is extremely significant for us to make a complete consideration before we make choices, especially the important ones.

Admittedly, some people may concern that taking a lot of time to make a decision may occupy them too much time and effort, even though the decision may be crucial for them. They believe that if they have been always hesitating for a long time about the choice they are going to make, it is just a waste of their precious time. By contrast, if they make every choice decisively, the time they have saved can be used to do other meaningful things. Besides, by making decision without hesitation, they may never miss any invaluable opportunities, like a decent job or a chance of promotion. Therefore, the aforementioned reasons can account for why many people regard spending a long time deciding as a useless and unworthy thing.

However, although it may cost us more time if we take all of the benefits and consequences into thorough consideration when facing some significant choice, I still believe that it’s worth it. We should keep in mind that sloppy decision-making can get punished swiftly, otherwise it may take us even more time to make up for our abrupt choice. For instance, when the government consider about whether they should establish factories in a resident area, if they decide to build them due to their dramatic benefits without taking the contaminants they may cause into consideration, the city is totally likely to confront environmental hazards in the near future. As a result, the authorities may have no choice but to spare no effort to address the pollution for many years, which could be avoided if they took several hours to completely consider the potential outcomes. Hence, taking more time to make consideration before we make a significant decision is not a waste of time. Instead, it is time-efficient since it can help us avoid potential outcomes.

In sum, although the vast majority may assert that taking much time to make an important decision is unworthy, I believe it is a merit which enables us to prevent negative results and make better choices.