The following appeared in a health magazine.

"The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent

survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional

recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase

in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown

reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the

most healthy citizens regularly eat."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that the residents of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. The conclusion is mainly based on a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, which can reduce cholesterol, and a decline in the sales of sulia, a food that few of healthy citizens regularly eat. Nevertheless, some specific proofs need to be offered to better evaluate the argument.

The author mentions that there has been a fourfold climb in the sales of food products containing kiran, which can reduce cholesterol and infers that the residents of Forsythe eat more healthily than before. Apparently, behind the inference lies the assumption that food products containing kiran are entirely healthful and they are all consumed by the citizens of Forsythe. However, the author fails to persuade me that the assumption is justifiable without some further credence being afforded. In all likelihood, a majority of such kind of food products have severe side effects or they contain excessive addictive and preservatives, which means that their negative impacts far outweigh the benefits of reducing cholesterol. It is also probable that most of them are consumed by the travelers while not popular in the local area, which engender that the citizens in Forsythe may never eat them. Under these scenarios, the increase in sales of this kind of food fails to represent the healthy diets of the local people.

Besides, the author also demonstrates that the sales of sulia, a food that few of the most healthy citizens regularly eat, have decreased. Basing on this decrease, the author deduces that the residents of Forsythe are certainly eating more healthily, which is far-fetched. It is entirely possible that people do not buy sulia merely because they cannot afford this extremely expensive food, or they just dislike the taste of it rather than consider it as unhealthy food. Besides, we can never neglect the possibility that people are likely to eat more other kinds of junk food, such as chips or hamburgers. All of these aforementioned probabilities undermine the inference. It is not ascertained that people in Forsythe have healthier diets than before. Hence, more specific credence should be provided to check the validity of the argument.

On the basis that citizens of Forsythe eat more healthily than they did in the past, it is still hasty to conclude that people have adopted more healthful lifestyles in absence of specific evidence. The conclusion is fraught with dubious assumptions that the healthy diets are fully representative of healthy lifestyles. We all know the healthy lifestyles should be evaluated from a myriad of aspects rather than merely eating habits. It is highly likely that residents of Forsythe are reluctant to do exercises regularly, which engenders a high risk of obesity among them. Besides, they are also likely to sleep at midnight. The inadequacy of sleep may bring about some severe disease, such as heart diseases and sometimes may even threaten their lives. Consequently, the healthier eating habit, in itself, cannot sufficiently prove the validity of the conclusion without more credence.

Overall, the argument may be comprehensive, some specific proofs need to be released to better evaluate the argument. In that case, the argument and the conclusion may be more reasoning and convincing.