The following appeared in a health magazine.

"The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the most healthy citizens regularly eat."

The article that have been mentioned in the question states that people’s responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. And because of that the article assumes that people’s life had got healthier than 10 years from now. While the publisher is stating those facts as they we’re completely true, few assumptions should have been explained more to strengthen his article.

To begin with, the publisher is depending on people’s responses to some recent survey, without actually thinking if this survey is trusted or not. The survey can be some trite survey on random people without really thinking about the community that we are studying. The survey could have been asking people some vague questions about their lifes that have nothing to do with their actual health. In addition, who’s getting the data out of those surveys? Surveys and conclusions about health and humans specially, should be handled by doctors and people with actual education in this field. As health surveys can be understood in a wrong way, which can lead to some actions that can be harmful for the community.

Moreover, the article states that there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This statement just vaguely mentions that it’s a scientific study without really mentioning resources or the scientists that actually worked on this study. Again mentioning a study without mentioning any resources or evidence that at least it can be trusted, can lead to wrong interpretations and the reader being doubtful of the article hes reading.

Building on the fact before, the article says that the previous study can be evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the most healthy citizens regularly eat. This assumption have some flaws in it, where the writer didn’t explain why other assumptions can’t be interpreted from this evidence. People can be buying sulia in addition to food products containing kiran on the side with it. On the other hand, the publisher could strengthen his argument by mentioning that while the quantity of food consumed by citizens of Forsythe being the same, the consumption of food products containing kiran have increased. In this way, the publisher has justified his evidence and made it stronger through strengthening the relation between his evidence and conclusion.

Finally, while the publisher has made good job justifying his points, he left some flaws here and there in the article where we explained those flaws and gave suggestions on how to strengthen this article.