The following appeared in the City Council Proceedings of the local newspaper in Smithville:

“The city council of Smithville has instituted changes to police procedures to improve the visibility of the police force. These changes require that the town hire more police officers, budget more funds for police overtime, and direct the officers to patrol significantly more often on foot rather than from their patrol cars. These improvements in visibility will significantly lower the crime rate in Smithville and make its citizens feel safer.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions need to be answered to decide how likely the stated recommendation is to yield the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendations.

The argument presented by the author demonstrates the recommendations put forward by the City Council of Smithville, in its effort to lower crime rate in Smithville and make the citizens feel safer. The council has proposed various transformations like hiring more police officers, allocating more funds for police to support overtime and patrolling on foot, to improve the visibility of the police force.

The most cardinal question to be asked would be regarding the current state of affairs at Smithville. The present visibility rate of the police officers should be monitored. Along with that, an analysis of the present crime rates should be performed to evaluate the exigency of the situation. The next pertinent aspect to be observed is the mindset of the general masses and the existing criminals. The common man should trust the police while the criminals must be frightened. Only then, would the visibility of the police will have the required effects. If the presence of the police does not cause trepidation for the criminals; merely looking at water never satiates the thirst of a thirsty man.

The question to be asked next would be entailing to the existing police to common man ratio. The relative strength of the police force against the city population needs to be estimated to ensure that each police man covers a fairly reasonable number of citizens. And if this is true then admitting new men to the force would not be that effective as might be providing special training to the existing force to make them more adept in combating crimes.

The next aspect to be explored would be the availability of the funds or the existing funds that can be diverted to the police requirements. The readiness in the force to opt for overtime also needs to be ensured. A lack of pecuniary support or absence of fervor in the force to serve for extra hours, both will diminish the effectiveness of the proposed recommendations. The expenditure on patrolling by cars should be calculated and the savings, if patrolling is done by foot should be evaluated. This should be contrasted against the conditions, when being on foot acts as a drawback for the police, slowing down their movement and aiding the criminals in escaping.

Hence, an overall assessment of the scenario is indispensible before the adoption of the council recommendations. Only the visibility of the police can never lead to reduced crime rates. The laws must be stringent, the punishments predetermined, daunting and should be imposed when need be, as these characteristics act as deterrents for the criminals. The quality of the police force should also be ensured. They should be dedicated, well accoutered, physically strong and probity should be their inherent trait. Only then will the crime rates actually decline and the citizens will feel safer.