The following appeared in the editorial section of a corporate newsletter.

The common notion that workers are generally apathetic about management issues is false, or at least outdated: a recently published survey indicates that 79 percent of the nearly 1,200 workers who responded to survey questionnaires expressed a high level of interest in the topics of corporate restructuring and redesign of benefits programs.

The argument questions a commonly held notion that workers are generally apathetic about management issues on the basis of a survey conducted in which a significant number of workers expressed their interests in certain management issues. Stated this way, the argument conspicuously lacks rigour for several reasons; It manipulates the facts and provides a distorted view of the situation; It fails to consider several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated; and It reveals the examples of leap of faith.

Firstly, the argument draws its conclusions from a single survey which included a mere 1200 workers. The conclusion is a stretch as there are millions of workers around the world and hence, drawing a generic conclusion based on such a small sample size would be misleading. At least, the argument needs to provide some information that can validate the credibility of the survey. The information related to different industries, countries, and economies from which these workers are, can definitely help us understand if the sample is biased. The author also needs to clarify his reasoning in stating that the survey responses are reflective of generic notions of the workers.

Secondly, even if the survey responses are reflective of generic notions of the workers, interest in two of the management issues, doesn’t necessarily imply interest in management issues in general. The workers might be interested in those specific topics because of personal reasons. For example, a worker might be interested in redesigning the benefits program because he is not happy with the current one. Without establishing a clear correlation between interest in two topics and interest in management issues in general, this argument remains rather a leap of faith.

Finally, the arguments provides no information related to: why there is a common notion that workers are apathetic to management issues in the first place?; Is there substantive evidence that the sample size is adequate and unbiased to draw such a generic conclusion?; And, are there any other factors that could influence the response of the workers other than the interest in management issues? Without convincing answers to these questions, the argument remains rather wishful thinking than sensible argument.

In sum, the argument is flawed for the aforementioned reasons and therefore, unconvincing. The argument can be significantly strengthened if the author provides relevant facts to establish the credibility of the survey and a correlation between the responses and the conclusion.