The following appeared in the editorial section of a West Cambria newspaper:

“A recent review of the West Cambria volunteer ambulance service revealed a longer

average response time to accidents than was reported by a commercial ambulance squad

located in East Cambria. In order to provide better patient care for accident victims and to

raise revenue for our town by collecting service fees for ambulance use, we should

disband our volunteer service and hire a commercial ambulance service.”

Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc.

The argument that citizens of the West Cambria should disallowed their volunteer ambulance service by replacing with a commercial one is not entirely logically convincing, because it ignores certain crucial assumptions.

Firstly, the argument assumes that hiring a commercial ambulance service could care patients better than current squad. That assumption based on a comparison between West and East Cambria’s ambulance services but there is no detailed explanation about reasons of why a commercial ambulance squad responded more quickly to accident. Perhaps, East Cambria owns better and faster vehicles than West or there is less traffic in the streets of East Cambria. For Example: Purchasing better and quicker ambulance cars or creating emergency lines in the roads of West Cambria could close the gap between responding times

Secondly, the argument omits that author’s conclusion is based on only one determinant to decide East Cambria’s ambulance service model is better. In order to provide better patient care for victims, the town also has to own better doctors, medical equipment and hospitals, these facts are flawed in Author’s claim. For example: maybe victims is reached hospital later than East Cambria but surgeons of the West Cambria could be better on medical operations which is more important for patient’s health.

Finally, the argument never addresses price gap between public and commercial hospitals. Health is the necessary for humans and it is fact that people are trying to escape from ill-nesses. It is a fact that in the most of industrialized countries, medical care is free and right of citizens to acquire. In most countries, public hospitals serve for their citizens for free or cheaper prices than the commercial ones. There are many suspicious and doubts about qualifications of the commercial hospitals, including ambulance service. The evidence shows that quality of caring in the public hospitals is also better in comparing to commercial hospitals. That’s why demanding additional fee for an ambulance service in the West Cambria would likely face with negative reply by people because it is responsibility of town to provide better service and they pay their taxes to town for better.

Thus argument is not completely sound.

The evidence in support of conclusion, analyzing causes behind time responding time differences between two cities could result by finding all determinants of problems and a solution for problem.

Ultimately, the argument might have been weakened by flaws in the author’s assumption.