The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora Medical experts say that only one quarter of Corpora s citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness even though twenty years ago one half of all of Corpora s citizens me

The article suggests that the lagging economy of the region is to blame moreso than increased computer use for the decline of physical fitness for the population of Corpora. The article references that the levels of physical fitness is significantly less than it was twenty years ago, and computer use has drastically increased in that timespan. Yet it discounts computer use as a prime cause for the problem in stating that in areas of high computer use, physical fitness rates are also highest in the region. Then the article goes on to make a broad and unfounded claim that due to recent declines in physical fitness products, the poor economy of the region is most likely to blame. While it is true a lagging economy will tighten personal spending, there are many ways to stay fit. One would expect to see a reduction in physical fitness amounts during times of economic turmoil, but the drastic numbers mentioned in the article seem to indicate other factors are also responsible.

The problem here is that the article fails to take into account these other factors. It doesn’t even address them. For instance, what other health issues have arisen in recent years? What about other forms of time consuming entertainment? Did television watching also rise considerably in recent years? What trends can be traced to a reduced emphasis on pysical fitness for the population? There are many factors that can affect how much people exercise. Although the economy might very well be a factor in declining physical fitness rates, is it the prime factor? The article should also take into account the neighboring areas and examine what effects the lagging economy has on measurable levels of physical activity. Did the same levels of physical fitness declines occur elsewhere in the region?

There is also another consideration to be made here. The article concludes that as the economy rebounds, fitness levels are most likely going to increase as well. Since the article fails to establish conclusively the economy is the prime culprit, there is no guarantee that fitness levels will rise. It also does not take into account the change in attitudes that might result toward exercise in the interim. In short, people can become lazy, and after all, there are many ways to stay fit other than purchasing equipment and utilizing gyms.

Third, the study states that low expenditures on fitness products and services can be attributed to the decline in the economy and once the economy is no longer in a decline, expenditures will increase. This implies that expenditures on fitness-related products will increase once the economy improves but this may not necessarily happen. Even if the economy does improve, people may find other outlets in which to spend their money. In addition, this study assumes that in order for physical fitness to be high, people need to spend money on fitness-related products and services. People can attain physical fitness without spending money on products and services. For example, running outdoors is a physical activity that does not require people to spend money. Thus, if fitness levels do not improve once the economy improves, then the conclusion of the study would be regarded as false.

Although the article may be correct in its conclusions, there is no way to know that in the scope of given information. Most likely as the economy rebounds, levels will rise, but not to the levels expected. In conclusion, there are many factors left unanswered here.