The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

“Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora’s citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora’s citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year’s unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The article suggests that the lagging economy of the region is to blame moreso than increased computer use for the decline of physical fitness for the population of Corpora. The article references that the levels of physical fitness is significantly less than it was twenty years ago, and computer use has drastically increased in that timespan. Yet it discounts computer use as a prime cause for the problem in stating that in areas of high computer use, physical fitness rates are also highest in the region. Then the article goes on to make a broad and unfounded claim that due to recent declines in physical fitness products, the poor economy of the region is most likely to blame. While it is true a lagging economy will tighten personal spending, there are many ways to stay fit. One would expect to see a reduction in physical fitness amounts during times of economic turmoil, but the drastic numbers mentioned in the article seem to indicate other factors are also responsible.

The problem here is that the article fails to take into account these other factors. It doesn’t even address them. For instance, what other health issues have arisen in recent years? What about other forms of time consuming entertainment? Did television watching also rise considerably in recent years? What trends can be traced to a reduced emphasis on pysical fitness for the population? There are many factors that can affect how much people exercise. Although the economy might very well be a factor in declining physical fitness rates, is it the prime factor? The article should also take into account the neighboring areas and examine what effects the lagging economy has on measurable levels of physical activity. Did the same levels of physical fitness declines occur elsewhere in the region?

There is also another consideration to be made here. The article concludes that as the economy rebounds, fitness levels are most likely going to increase as well. Since the article fails to establish conclusively the economy is the prime culprit, there is no guarantee that fitness levels will rise. It also does not take into account the change in attitudes that might result toward exercise in the interim. In short, people can become lazy, and after all, there are many ways to stay fit other than purchasing equipment and utilizing gyms.

Although the article may be correct in its conclusions, there is no way to know that in the scope of given information. Most likely as the economy rebounds, levels will rise, but not to the levels expected. In conclusion, there are many factors left unanswered here.