Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Some believe that scientists should concentrate on some parts of their fields that are more beneficial for people, while others maintain that all the area of knowledge, useful for immediate usage for people or not, are necessary to investigate. Though it seems both sides have their reasons for their claim, I strongly agree with the latter one that scientists should not be restricted in the area of knowledge that more likely to benefit individuals.

First of all, some fields of knowledge are the base for others such as Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry. The scientists of these knowledge may could not present an innovation that immediately can employ for people. But their findings are useful for other knowledge that serve more inventions to people such as engineering, medical and etc. Thus, restricting the scientists in some specific fields may lead to decrease innovations in long term. For a specific example, the Mathematicians improve theoretical methods of Machine learning while engineering use them for implementing in devices such as cell phones and autonomous vehicles.

Moreover, the capacity of research in different fields is becoming wider by increasing the number of scientist every day. So, if we limit them into specific area, in fact, we waste this capacity. Instead, they can work on some knowledge and broaden the horizon of knowledge in some area that may be useful in the future. For example, some may think space craft investigation does not have any promotion for individual people. However, the improvement in engine of the spacecrafts, which was invented decades ago, are implemented in our cars these days.

However, some claim that final goal of all knowledge is serving to people and all of the scientists should just focus on serving to people. They exemplify some usage of knowledge that lead to killing people like atomic bomb or chemical gas bomb. Although there are some abuses of knowledge in the world, it is not correct to generalize them to all of the knowledge that have not immediate benefit for people. Thus, their reasons could not be cogent.

In conclusion, though some people believe the scientists should be restricted to some parts of knowledge that have immediate benefit for people, I strongly reckon we should take them free to investigate in all parts of knowledge. Because they may not have immediate advantage for us but could provide base knowledge for future benefits.