The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

“Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora’s citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora’s citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year’s unusually low expenditures on fitnessrelated products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of this health magazine article states that there was a decremnt of the physical fitness evels in Corpora during the last twenty years and that what has been said by experts about the relation of physical fitness level and the usage of the computers in Corpora is mistaken and that the bad economic status of the Corpora is the reason behind the decrement in fitness levels, well, this argument is flawed due to many reasons including the validity of the survey, no strong bases for the relation between computer usage and well body shape and that the direct relationship of economy with the reduced money spent on sport devices is unclear and might be because of the reduced production of certain sport devices imported by Corpora traders or any other cause.

There is no evidence to support the data mentioned by the experts regarding the decrement of the percentage of people who met the fitness standards in Corpora during the last two decades, besides the number of Corpora population might have increased during this period and that had led this percentage decrease, so the number of the population wasn’t mentioned clearly and that gives vague and false assumption.

The author also mentioned that the experts were mistaken in regards to the decreased levels of pyhisical fitness in people who uses the computer more, and there were high fitness indices in areas of Corpora that have large amounts of computers regarding other areas, this statement is not clear since there was no accurate suevey to support it and also, there might be a coincidence of equality between the number of people who use the computers and the number of people who are in a good physical manners but without any relation to the computer use, so it was ambiguous suggestion from the author.

There was a decrease in the expenditures of fitness related apparatuses and services as presented by the author while he was trying to connect these low expenses with the deterioration of Economy and when financial status will improve, there will be a marked improvement. This assumption is faulty since there might be more than one reason for the low expenditures, for instance, the market where these fitness related devices were coming from, might have had closed or the manager of such companies have decided not to export merchandise to Corpora due to business related issue or due to personal problems. The services of these physical fitness services might have undergone special problems regarding their job. Thus, this mentioned proposition if wrong and not reliable.

As a conclusion, the author presented many assumptions in regards to Corpora’s declinment in physical fitness due to the mentioned reasons might hold another explanation and the author didn’t present accurate reasons regarding the population number during the past twenty years, and no valid surveys made to prove the relation between computer usage and fitness, also, it wasn’t clear whether economy really contributed in reduced expenses of fitness related devices and services dut to no obvious causes were mentioned regarding the reason for this decrement, so the assumption of the author is not valid neither held any strong bases of accuracy.