“Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora’s citizens meet the current standards

for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of

Corpora’s citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken

when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline

in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of

computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made

citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year’s unusually low expenditures on

fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely

the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does.”

The argument states the following facts but does not provide sufficient information to justify them.

1) The number of people meet the fitness standards has decline between now and 20 years ago based on the standards at that time

2) The computes have not made people less physically fit

3) There is a decline in the expenditures on fitness related products and services. If the economy impoves the fitness levels also increase.

Firstly, It is not fair to come to a conclusion based on different standards. If the standards defined twenty years back are different from the current standards then the analysis is wrong. As time changes, the economical and social situations of the society changes as well. But the argument does not give what aspects of the current standards have changes. It may happen that with the previous standards their may be more than one-half of the people physically fit.

Secondly, The places where the computer ownership is highest may more people going to fitness centers and their fitness levels may be more, but we can't argue all these people with high fitness levels have computers. To illustrate, if there is a gym in the street where there is a high concentration of people who owns computer, but if the people who does not have computer only goes to the gym. And if there are no people in the next street is going to the gym then we will get a false assumption that the places with highest computer ownership are comparatively fit. Though, from the previous statements it is evident that is is not true.

Physical fitness can be achieved with out spending much money. People can daily go to jogging, walking, yoga and etcetra to improve their fitness. However, the argument states the the low expense on the fitness related products is due to economic slowdown but may also happen that the expenditure on the fitness products reduced not due to economy but due to different other awareness of other aspects. Like, people found they don't need a thread-mill to do jogging or running instead they can go to park and run. Even if the economy improves there is no statement in the current argument provides any evidence to prove that people spend money on fitness related products.

From the above analysis it is clear that the reason for reduction in the physical fitness crowd is not due to economic slowdown or computers. But it can be due to some other factors like people's choice to use less expensive methods or use the free fitness services available on the internet. So, unless more information about the changes in the fitness standards, population densities of people with and without computers in the different parts in the city where it was found to have high fitness levels we can not come to conclusion.