To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Looking at the current metropolitan and cosmopolitan cities, containing people ranging from different places in the world and gets mixed with different linguistic, cultural and traditional backgrounds, it is easy to think that these cities represent the society. However, there lies a problem with this combination effecting the cultures and differing from the actual society.

Firstly, though, the major cities contain people from different cities, the modernization has an effect which hinders us to assume that it represents the actual societies traits. When we try to understand the society it is not just we want to understand different sky touching builings or the neatly looking roads or the contrasting scenes with slums and rich lookings homes standing next to each other, but we want to see the traditions, cultural backgrounds, beliefs either religious or scientific, and living style. But in the major cities, the union of these diverse characteristics causes to loose some of the aspects of their normal life style. To illustrate, Major cities like New York, Delhi, and London shows the great style of living with sky touching buildings and people running with their electronic gadgets in hand. Contradictingly, in rural areas we find small buildings, huts with people having no access or very little access to the electronic gadgets. Also, the major cities has the pub culture where as the rural areas has pleasant culture with people discussing on their farms or sitting near trees.

Secondly, As Mahathma Gahdhi quoted after his travel throughout India as part of the independence movement,"The soul of India lies in its villages". It is true with other countries as well since the villages are still following the ancient and traditions the way the people live is different compare to the cities where there is multi cultural living style. Though there monuments and museums contains articles or images showing different cultural events and their live styles, very people can live in the cities with such living style due to the own offerings of major cities which differ from the complete society.

Manifestly, From the above reasons we can say that though the cities contain majority of people form different backgrounds we can not say it is a complete representation of society as the living style, cultural and economical styles of other people living in rural areas vary. As these aspects play major role while determining the characteristics of the society, we can say that the study of major studies itself can't reveal the most important characteristics of the society.