The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

A prompt appeared in a health newsletter which suggested that the government should focus more upon educating people about bicycle safety than encouraging them to wear helmets while riding a bicycle. The arguer of the prompt has provided two independent study's to bolster his position and put forth his point. The evidence seem convincing and add credibility to the arguer's opinion, although a closer examination might hint towards possible fallacies that might undermine the arguer's position.

Firstly, the arguer cite's one of the study which states that the number of bicyclists who wear helmets has increased form thirty-five percent to eighty percent. Ironically, another study suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle related accidents have risen by two-hundred percent. Therefore, the arguer concludes that wearing a helmet is giving people a sense of safety which enables them to take more risks. Such an assertion in my opinion is based upon statistics which might be incorrect. What if the number of people who have reported that they wear helmets have actually lied to this question? This would mean that the number of people who wear helmets might actually be a lot less than expected, due to which, it may also be the case that people who are really wearing helmets are unscathed by the accident and the people who have lied about wearing helmets are the one's who are victims of bicycle related accidents. This would undermine the arguer's opinion regarding the importance of wearing helmets while riding a bicycle.

Secondly, the arguer states that the number of bicycle related accidents have increased considerably over the past ten-years. Has the arguer tried to investigate the reason behind such an increase? It might be possible that the increase in number of accidents is due to the increase in the number of automobiles over the past decade. This could mean that it is not the riders who are taking a risk, but the sheer clutter, owing to the increase in automobile traffic has led to the increase of bicycle related accidents. In such a case, it would be ideal to wear a helmet since relying solely on bicycle safety eductaion might not probably save a person from serious head injuries. The arguer's assertion regarding the importance of wearing a helmet is again undermined if such a case exists.

Lastly, the arguer seems to be confident about the results of bicycle safety education. The arguer thinks that the bicycle riders will diligently follow the bicycle safety education whenever they ride their bicycles. What if this is not the case? What if the bicycle riders follow the safety instructions for a few days and then abandon it? This would mean that the number of accidents will increase even further, since the bicycle riders might not be wearing helmets while riding a bicycle. To prevent such a situation from arising, it would be ideal if the government encourages the use of helmets in order to prevent bicycle related accidents.

In sum, the evidence provided by the arguer are dubious and erroneous in nature. There are considerable fallacies in the evidence provided and hence, it seriously undermines the arguer's position and his opinion.