The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, there is clearly a call for the government to strive to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author suggests that the government should take up education program that informs the bicyclists about the other factors that they should consider necessary for bicycly safety other than using helmets. The author comes to this conclusion based on one study which showed an increase in helmets usage to 80 percent and another study which found out that the bicycle accidents increased by 200 percent. However, before the recomendation can be properly evaluated, one would require answers to the following question.

Firstly, how accurate are the two studies? The author does not provide any details about how the two studies were carried out. There is a possibility that the two studies were carried out by two different firms and the methodology used by the two firms varied remarkably. Further, it is possible that while one firm was able to accurately measure the increased usage of the helments, the other firm chose a small sample or a biased sample to estimate the increase in the number of bicycle accidents and hence, arrived at an incorrect number. If the above turns out to be true, then the author's conclusion that the number of bicycle accidents increased even with the increased usage of the helmets does not hold water.

Secondly, do the bicylists wearing helmets feel safer than otherwise? The author prematurely assumes that bicylists wearing helmets feel safer and are incited to take more risks which is the cause for the increased number of bicycle accidents. However, the author neither quotes any study nor any reason for him to arrive at such conclusion. It is highly possible that people who take precautions such as wearing helmets are extra cautios and are always alert to avert any accident. Thus, such common behavior of humans to be more prudent while using safety measures invalidates the author's assertion.

Finally, how effective can the education program be? A government can proactively develop an education program to educate bicyclists about other factors that can help reduce accidents. However, if the bicyclists do not show much interest in attending such program or they can't accomodate time for such program, the government's effort would be futile. If the above scenario turns out to be true, then the author's argument is significantly weakened.

Therefore, the argument, as it stands, is unpersuasive as the author does not provide any information addressing the above posed questions. One will be in a better position to evaluate the argument if the author can provide answers to the above questions in a pellucid manner leaving no room for ambiguity.