In this newsletter, due to nation-wide study, the author claims that to decrease the bicycle related accidents the government should pay more attention on educating people about bicycle safety rather than making the use of helmets mandatory, this argument seems acceptable. However, unwarranted evidence and flawed assumptions render the argument highly suspect.

First, the study suggests that there is 45 percent increase in number of bicyclists wearing helmets and 200 percent increase in bicycle related accidents. Author thinks there is a direct correlation between these two events, however he fails to consider the increase in population over the period of ten years. The increase in population might have caused the rise number of cars on the roads too. Accidents could’ve been caused due to the poor driving skills of the cars drivers’.

Second, the increase in population is substantial, hence the increase in accidents might still be limited to normal level or maybe even reduced relatively. With higher population the roads tend to get more crowded and increase the number of bicyclist and vehicles on the roads thereby increasing the possibility of accident occurrence. Plus it isn’t necessary that all the bicyclists that have been in the accident were wearing the helmet.

Finally, the improper roads that may have been left unrepaired by the government can cause the accidents. Also the author has made and unfair remark by saying the increased bicycle accidents are caused by helmet wearing bicyclists because they feel more safer and take more risks. This a baseless remark because it’s a common sense that helmet, although it might not completely protect people from the crash but plays and vital role in protection of the rider.

Hence, the argument makes a number of unstated assumptions that seriously undermine its validity. The rash recommendation to the government to launch the education program of bicycle safety and discourage people to wear helmets can cause severe problems in a long run.

Essay evaluation report

argument 1 -- OK

argument 2 -- duplicated to argument 1

argument 3 -- OK, but not exactly

Need to argue against the conclusion always. For this topic it is:

Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets.