The following appeared in the Health section of the Greenhorne Gazette:

“Motilac is a substance that occurs naturally in the human digestive tract. Many

consumers of dietary supplements containing motilac report significant easing of digestive

discomfort after just a few weeks of use. Among Greenhorne residents, the consumption

of motilac supplements has increased 80% over the last seven years. Last year,

Greenhorne’s five hospitals reported fewer cases of serious gastrointestinal disorders than

any year on record. Meanwhile, sales of motilac supplements are declining in the

neighboring town of Etolin. Notably, hospitals in Etolin report a steady increase in the last

two years in patients experiencing a wide range of distressing gastrointestinal symptoms.

The clear explanation of these trends is that motilac is effective in preventing many

serious gastrointestinal disorders."

In order to overcome the deficiency of vitamin A in tagus,an international development organisation has engineered a new breed of millet which is high in vitamin A.Since these new seeds of millet are expensive for farmers,they will be paid subsidies.As millet is a staple food in tagus,people will easily adopt to this new variety and government should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.Stated in this way,the author failed to mention several key facts based on which it could be evaluated.The conclusion is based on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence.Therefore the argument is rather weak, unconvincing and has several flaws.

Firstly, the author readily assumes that with the newly invented variety of millet, the vitamin deficiency can be cured.But nowhere the author had mentioned that it is tested on some people or in some particular region where the deficiency is detected in tagus, where it achieved desirable results.if the author had mentioned about the experimental results of testing this new variety, the conclusion will be strengthened.But in contrary, if it produce some side effects on the people, then it will create more adverse effects which doesn't support the conclusion of the given argument.

Secondly, nowhere in the argument it is mentioned about the feasibility of growing the new variety of millet in tagus.Any crop can be grown in a country based on it's climatic conditions,quality of the soil,etc.So if the author had mentioned about the favourable conditions for growing this new breed of millet and it's relevance between the climatic conditions of tagus,the conclusion would be apt for the mentioned problem.

Third, the author didn't mention the number of people being affected by the deficiency of vitamin A.if it is a big number, then the government should take all the pains to give subsidy and promote this product.if the number of people being affected is negligible, then it shouldn't be given high importance by the government, instead it can focus on more problems on high alert.

In addition to the flaws, the author didn't mention about the credibility of the international organisation mentioned in the argument and the effectiveness of it in producing new breed of products.And the author didn't mention about the different ways the government of tagus have thought of for combating vitamin A deficiency.Simply the author mentioned about this new breed and the need for promoting it.As a result,the conclusion has no legs to stand on.

In summary,the argument is flawed and therefore unconvincing.it could be considerably strengthened if the author have mentioned all the relevant key facts.To assess the merits of a certain situation, it is essential to have full knowledge of all the contributing factors.