The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author in his letter to the editor makes an appeal to reduce the number of mopeds rentals in the summer season. The reason for such action mentioned is to reduce the accident noticed in previous days. Though the deeds of the author are inclined towards good thing, he has not considered all possible factors that may affect due to this decision. This makes his advice weak and arise a lot of questions in one's mind.

Firstly, the author tells about the accidents experienced by town involving mopeds and pedestrians. But, before reaching to certain conclusion the author need to answer certains questions. One must know whether only mopeds are responsible for such accidents or are there any alternative possibilities such as under-developed roads, careless pedestrians, some rash drivers, local goons and other. We can't reach at any conclusion before having a proper survey of the accidents.

Further, the author after accusing mopeds for the accidents directly jump to conclusion that need to reduce number of mopeds in summer season when population rises. In this the author keeps a very narrow focus on only accident part and not consider other factors that may affect. One thing is the summer season is responsible to attract the population and moped being the major transport medium will be preferred by them. Reducing its number may cause inconvinience among them and put a bad impression, which may result in decreasing visitors. Less visitors may result in less revenue, degrading lifestyle, reducing popularity. Thus, before making such drastic decision the author may study incidences thoroughly.

Moreover, to prove his point the author uses an example of town Seaville's town and there actions in such situation. Though, giving example proves to be effective while proving the point, but unfair comparison between 2 towns are not acceptable. The other possibilities responsible for reduction in accident in Seaville can be introduction of more efficient means of transport, good roads, careful public, skilled drivers of moped. Thus, need to have an intense meet with council to know actions taken by them to overcome accidents.

Finally, the advice for the author can be to consider all possible scenario and have an detailed survey of the Seaville's actions for controlling accidents. This will help the author to reach to some better advice for the editor rather than reducing usage of mopeds.