The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The committee put forth their proposal of using the funds that can be saved in the future for adults. They express the causes of saving funds as reduction of the birth rate that may reduce the enrollment in public schools which may probably help to cutoff expenses from funds of the educational athletic and recreational facilities. This is quite dubious kind of reasoning based on some predictions. Thus it would not be possible to accept it without any strong reasonable proof.

While describing the possibilities the author makes a statement that reduction of the birthrate i.e. currently being experienced may consequently reduce the enrollment rate. Though this seems to be obvious, but such implication is not acceptable without considering alternative situations. There can be a case in which some students for enrollment may migrate to the city. Also, it is possible that some birth remained unrecorded and thus, the statistics shows reduced results. It is also possible that in future birthrate may increase drastically, which may also give rise to higher funds than current. Thus, without consideration of all such scenarios no conclusion can be made.

The author assumes that if enrollment reduces apparantly due to the reduction in birthrate, the funds from the athletics and recreational facilities can be narrowed. The expenses of athletics and recreational activities may not primarily depend on the enrollment rate. Some other factors that may demands higher funds for these activities are as follows - the rise in the cost of the equipments required, enrollment of good players may demand good provisions, the participation in the events and also, the importance of these activities for the fame and growth of the school must be considered. After consideration of these factors, the authors statement can be proved flawed.

Further, the author tells us about the plan of using the saved fund for the adults in future. Though this seems to be amicable idea by the committee, need to evaluate it. One must make an estimate of the expenses requirement for the adults before making any decisions. One must evaluate whether the current available funds will not be enough in the future. Also, it must be checked whether there are other more vital investment requirements in future, rather than this. The conclusion made on the basis of all such factors is only acceptable.

Finally, the committee need to bring up some detailed study and evidences before making any statement. All factors affecting the birthrate, funds for educational benefits and adults fund requirement must be done precisely.