A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

According to the author, some twenty-year study tells us about an observation that consumption of Salicylates by residents of Mentia may help in reducing headaches reported. Further, the stanza informs us that some of the food-processing companies are looking forward to use Salicylates as a food preservative. The author without giving a strong proof for his statements tells us about prediction of health experts that residents of Mentia will suffer fewer headaches in the future. Though the logical flow seems to be acceptable, but a keen look gives rise to multiple questions in one's mind.

Firstly, in a statement the author states about a correlation between rising in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches. Without providing us with some precise scientific and experimental proof, the author is not at a position to make such rigid statements. One can ask whether only consumption of salicylates is responsible for reduction of headaches cases? There may be alternative responses such as healthy lifestyle of residents, awareness campaign by doctors for health, reduction of unhealthy food stalls in Mentia and others. Also, the average reduction may not signify any specific statistical information and remains quit doubtful. Thus, without any specific evidence the statement made by the author is not acceptable.

Further, some food-processing companies are making plans to use additives for food products based on the positive effects mentioned in the study report. Though this seems to be good decision to make plans based on some study, but once need to evaluate the reliability of reports. It is the fact that if a product has some positive effects, it may also have some negative effects on body as well. Some of them are as follows - reduction on thinking capabilities, may act as sedatives, may give rise to slowly rising diseases and others. So, the advice is to look at all possible effects and then decide whether to make use of salicylates or not.

Moreover, while making a conclusion for the paragraph the author tells about some vague prediction made by health experts that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headache in the future. Though this can be true, but without any specific evidence this statement is not acceptable. There may be the case that the norishment of heath of residents is due to health habits and not the consumption of salicylates-rich food products. Also, the possibilities of slowly occuring negative effect of salicylates cannot be denied. Thus, need some scientific proof to strenthen the prediction.

Finally, the only advice the author must follow is to collect some precise proof for the statements made and based on that conclude whether it is useful to use salicylates as food preservative or not to reduce the headaches of residents of Mentia.