Governments should offer free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Education can be described as the most precious gift granted by the nature to human being. The only thing that distinguishes human beings from other living creatures on earth is the ability to gain knowledge. The development of the nation is often measured in terms of literacy rate of the population, thus, being the major governing body of the nation the government must make people aware of the importance of education. Providing each student free education can act as a catalyst to the program, but, some demerits may also arise while implementing such a plan.

The government is responsible to rule and take decisions responsible for the welfare of nation and its citizens. The government keen in working on development of the country must definitely consider educational development as prime factor. The development of educational status of the nation grants the country with huge literacy rate, newcomers with new ideas, people carrying technical expertise, and enrichment of varied interest groups overall enhancement of the nation. For an instance, the movie 'Shivaji : The boss' tells us a story of how a youngster takes responsibility of development of the nations in terms of infrastructure and educational facilities, when government get polluted due to bribery, unethical and immoral practices. Thus, the educational development relies vitally in the hands of the government.

One of the best way to promote education among common people is provide some sort of beneficiary or scholarship. Such an act introduces an equal opportunity for all students and encourage them to continue their education in any circumstances. The provision of grant to the students kind of creates a sense of responsibility and brings up maturity in them sooner. The free education scheme allows the student to analyze his interests, try out different fields and give a significant contribution to the field of interest. The most suitable example of this situation can be Dr. B.R. Ambedkar, he being from poor family, but, with great enthusiasm to study was supported by the King of Kolhapur, Shahu Maharaj. This gave him a boost to conquer unexpected heights and end up being the most learned person of that period. Thus, sometimes the introduction of free education may enhance the merit for educational development.

Though, it creates lot of opportunities by introducing free education but carries some demerits as well. The child availing free education may not value the opportunity and use the funds for unethical practices. Also, it is possible that the child may become ingrateful and may not take responsibility for the development of the nation as a sign of gratitude. The best example for such situation can be the Chinese Government. The government provides education for all the students free of cost, thus, they have been rapidly developing in educational, technological, art and other fields. Even after giving free education, for keeping sense of responsibility in the student, they avail this opportunity in terms of debts which must be returned at some point of time to the nation in terms of money or service. This act had boosted the growth of China than ever before.

Finally, the only thing I would like to emphasize is the government must introduce certain programs for the development of education, but along with that must arise some kind of attitude of resposibility and gratitude in the person availing this opportunity. This will not only encourage the population to educate but also enrich the ethical values in individuals.