The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument claims that reducing number of rental mopeds during summer seasons will reduce the moped accidents. it further supports the argument by mentioning that such measures have been succesful on neighbouring island. Stated in this way the argument fails to take into account a few factors which could call the conclusion into question. it rests on some assumptions, for which there is no clear evidence. Therefore the argument is unconvincing and falls apart at seams.

Firstly, the argument assumes that increased population during summers is the reason for accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. it does not mention the reason for increase in populations, but its seems that it is due to incoming tourists. Also, it mentions that population increase to 1,00,000. it may be possible that population has increased from 99,900. A mere increase in 100 people is not a strong reason to believe that increase in population is the reason for accidents. A comparative value of population should have been given.

Second, even if we consider that comparatively increase in population is high, that does not mean the accidents are necessarily caused by it. it may be possible that the incoming tourist do not walk on streets or drive a moped; Majority of them might be travelling through tourist buses or cabs. An indicative figure of pedestrian-moped accidents which involve tourists should have been given to make the argument stronger.

Third, it claims to reduce rental mopeds from 50 per day to 25 per day. it is very well possible that accidents involving rental mopeds are very less than accidents involving self owned mopeds. if total number of mopeds on street are in thousands, just reducing 25 rental mopeds would not do much good. A comparative figure of total mopeds on street, total moped-pedestrian accidents per day, and contibution of rental and self owned mopeds in such accidents should have been mentioned.

Finally, a similar action reduced 50% accidents on neighbouring island does not support the argument at all. The reasons for accidents on other island may be population, but what if the reason of accidents on this island are bad roads and not population?

In summary, the argument fails to convince because of the faulty assumptions aforementioned. if the argument had drawn upon examples as suggested, and thereby plugged in the holes in the reasoning, it would have been far sounder on the whole.