The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the letter avers that by reducing the number of mopeds rented on Balmer Island, accidents would be halved, citing experience from the neighboring island of Seaville. While the argument seems to be quite plausible at first glance, a closer scrutiny sheds light on a plethora of questions yet to be answered, which are crucial for the effectiveness and feasibility of the reform.

To begin with, it is necessary to figure out the relationship between the number of mopeds and accident rates. Intuitively, attributting the number of accidents to increased population and therefore a jump in moped use is reasonable. But many other factors can also contribute to accidents, and a thorough investigation is needed. For instance, it is possible that most travellers comming during summer months choose to walk on the road instead of taking mopeds, which also makes them more prone to accidents.

What is more, even if the number of accidents are positively correlated to the number of mopeds rented, it is still questionable for the city council to set the limit of moped for rent to 25 per day. Fewer mopeds on the roads can definetely lower accident rates; nonetheless, to what extant this policy is going to work remains elusive. To predict the possible outcome, the city council would need to analysis the traffic condition and accidents on Balmer Island in summers.

Last but not least, the author believes that by following the practice on the neiboring island of Seaville, Balmer Island can also half its moped accidents. Since little information about Seaville Island is proffered here, this predictment can hardly be reliable. There lies a possibility that the authority on Seaville Island encouraged people to take public transportation, or that Seaville Island has a more rigorous traffic law, making accidents less likely to occur. Before answering these questions, it is too reckless for the author to asserts that the reform on Balmer Island can guarantee the same outcome as Seaville.

In conclusion, it may be true that the city council of Balmer Island ought to half the number of mopeds available for rent to diminish moped accidents. But the arguments are rife with unanswered questions and are not substantiated by the evidence in the letter, severely undermining the valuation of the recommendation.