The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While the growth in moped usage on Balmer Island may increase the possibility of more moped-involved accidents, it is not necessarily effective to limit the number of mopeds in order to reduce these accidents. The policy simply assumes the growth in mopeds is the cause of these accidents and the situation of Balmer Island and it of Seaville are similar. However, these assumptions are rife with holes that make them invalid.

The policy implies that the cause of incidents is because of the increasing use of mopeds and these incidents will decrease by limiting mopeds’ usage. However, the causes of these accidents require our further investigation. It is possible the accidents are not caused by the mopeds, but by the other party involved in them. For example, it could be there are more drunk drivers of cars on the road in the summer who are indulging themselves in summer beach parties, which will make the moped users victims of these accidents. If the use of mopeds are limited, these automobile drivers may be less careful because there will be less mopeds on the road, which, potentially, will result in more accidents. The cause can also be on the pedestrians who suddenly show up on the roads or not obeying the law. What’s more, simply by limiting the amount of moped in use is not enough, and a regulation on the riders’ behavior will also be beneficial.

Building upon the experience of Seaville, the policy believe that impleting the same policy will lead into the same result. On the contrary, there are many factors come into play here. First, this assumption ingnored these are two different places, so their visitors and buisness may be different, which may affect how the policy is implemented. The moped rental owners may be more willing to obey the laws than the ones on Balmer Island. The businesses on Balmer Island may simply negnect this policy facing the temptating fast-growing market. In this case, the policy will be entirely ineffective. Plus, we need to consider the influences that time difference may place. Even though similar policy worked for Seaville last year, we can not say it will have the same effect this year as well. Last year, the demand for mopeds in Seaville maybe small which conincidentally helped improving the situation, which would undermine the influences of this policy. Road condition, geography…. Population…

To conclude, although it may be a good idea to control the amount of mopeds in traffic, its effect on reducing accidents can not be anticipated unless we can somehow provide more tangible evidence that the growth in moped demand is what causes these accidents.