The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island gazette.

On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increase to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the Island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighbouring island if Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals.

The author assumes that to reduce number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by island’s moped rental companies. His line of reasoning is that last year neighbouring island of Seaville attain 50% annual reduction in moped accidents when town council of Seaville enforced similar limit on moped rentals. The argument seems unconvincing in several ways as it fails to provide substantial evidences about population of both towns, number of moped actually rented by rental companies etc.

Firstly the author assumes that solely by restricting the number of moped rented rate of accidents on Balmer Island will decrease. However he fails to realise that with restricted supply of rental mopeds the people in Balmer might purchase the mopeds instead. Also there is every possibility that number of pedestrians might increase instead, with more pedestrians especially with tourists, risk of moped-pedestrians accidents would probably increase.

Secondly the author states that by limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain 50% annual reduction in accidents that was achieved last year on neighbouring island of Seaville, when Seaville enforced similar limits on moped rentals. But what happened in Seaville is not likely to happen in Balmer island. Phehaps there is every possibility that Seaville experienced unusually fair weather conditions, fewer tourists than previous years, which thereby declined need of rental mopeds in that particular year.

Finally the author asserts that the same phenomenon that caused a 50% decline in accidents on island of Seaville will cause similar decline on Balmer island. This assertion is ambiguous as the author did not provide any details about total population of both towns, average number of tourists visiting every year, requirement of rental mopeds. Hence this comparison is void.

In sum to bolster the argument author should provide more statistical data about population of both towns, weather conditions, number of tourists visiting every successive year, requirement of rental mopeds etc. and substantial evidences regarding the comparison made between both the towns.