The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

This topic raises the controversial issue that use of mopeds for transportation in Balmer Island should be reduced in the summer season to decrease the rate of road accident between mopeds and pedestrians. This issue is full of holes and bullets and there are many flaws present in the issue. The author raised this step to limits the number of mopeds rented by island’s moped companies in summer season. Thus, I disagree with the author’s issue and suggestions to improve the flaws will be mentioned.

First of all, the major flaw of the issue is in the conclusion that the author wants to decrease the number of mopeds in the summer season in which the population of Balmer island increases up to 100,000. It states that, in summer months the trade and business also increases. If the number of mopeds decreases in the Balmer island, then there will be transportation problem for the people. In the improvement, proper steps should be taken by Balmer Island Council to reduce the rate of accidents from, mopeds such as speed limits etc.

Additionally, the author wants that the number of mopeds rentals from the mopeds rental companies should be reduced from 50 per day to 25 per day. This data is based on another town as island of Seaville as Seaville’s town council reduce the use of mopeds which shows that there is reduction in accident will attend 50 percent rate. The flaw is in this assumption is that it did not mentioned about accidents caused by only mopeds. It may be possible the accident can cause by any other means of transportation. To improve this, proper statistics should be mentioned about the accidents that cause by mopeds only or other vehicle.

However, there may be chances that rate of accidents can be reduced if number of mopeds in town is reduced. But before taking this step the council also do more research for the cause of accident and involvement of moped in them. The proper guidelines should be made to avoid the accidents in the Balmer Islands.

In conclusion, the argument is not reasoned properly and there are many flaws in this issue. But, as we know that every coin has two sides so proper actions should be taken to avoid this. The Balmer island’s council should work on the suggestions offered in the above paragraphs.