The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author argues that, in order to reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds during the summer season, the moped rental companies should be restricted to moped rental per day. To support his/her argument, the author cites the following evidences: first, increasing population are likely to cause serve accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians; second, limiting the number of rentals, the moped accidents can be reduced; third, this policy is effective when implemented in Torseau. Tough the proposal has its merit, due to lack of relevant evidences and unaddressed assumptions, the argument remains unsubstantiated and flawed.

To begin with, the author unfairly suggests that rented moped is the only cause of the accidents. If the accidents were mainly due to the increasing number of mopeds on the street, the proposed policy for reducing the number of mopeds might be helpful. Nonetheless, many other causes remain untested. What if the accidents were mainly due to mopeds owners? It makes no sense to restrict the supply for rentals. Or perhaps, certain areas in Balmer were just too crowded to ride mopeds safely and banning mopeds in such area would be a much better solution than restricting the rentals. Without informing the proportion of rented mopeds and excluding all other possibilities, the conclusion drawn by the author is fallacious.

Moreover, the author assumes that the accidents can be declined after executing this policy. If mopeds are really fun to ride, maybe people who could not rent the mopeds will buy one, a scenario the policy could not prevent, either. Some pedestrians might become more reckless when they presume this policy would restrict moped largely, so instead reverting the initial goal. In other word, there might be more accidents because of citizens' inattention. We are only provided the population of Balmer Island during the summer months. How about the population during other months in the year? Perhaps the majority of tourists visit Balmer temporarily, and no more immigrants pouring into Balmer, then there is no need to restrict the rental of mopeds. We, thus, are unable to predict the future conditions after implementing the policy, because there are too many inconstant factoring involved in this issue.

The last issue we need to address is the extent to which the success of the policy in Seaville could be replicated in Balmer. To consider this issue, we have to answer the following questions. Did the policy reduce the accidents in Seavelle? Or could other factors such as the number of tourists or weather be responsible for the improvement?  Balmer should only consider adopting the policy if it really helped reduce the accidents in Seavelle.  Another question is this: did Balmer have the characteristics similar to Seavelle that were important for the proposed policy to work?  For example, suppose Seavelle had an effective and competent management team to carry out the policy.  Would Balmer be able to implement the policy in an equally effective way with its local officials?  Balmer has to be similar enough to Seavelle in various aspects in order for the policy to work.

Overall speaking, imitating the policy adopted in Seavelle to reduce the number of accidents involving Moped may or may not be a good idea depending on the answers to a host of questions that have been explored above.  Unless these questions are answered with more solid evidence, the issue remains unresolved.