The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the letter makes one big inferred assumption: what happened in Seaville will happen in Balmer Island. It’s easy to understand why the author would make this assumption, however the lack of evidence and other necessary information makes his argument flawed and hollow.

Towards the end of the text, the author dispels the notion behind his overarching plan. It is assumed that Seaville had a similar issue, and given the actions they took, their problem was minimized. Therefore, if we follow the plan, it will have the same effect in our town. There is an enormous amount of questions that can be brought up to pummel the author for making such a terrible assumption: How big is the population of Seaville? Did they have a higher or lower amount of population increase during the summer compared to Balmer Island? What was the data used to commend such actions? Where is the data to support the premise of the author? To say the least, the author is making a big leap. Perhaps his intentions are good, but without evidence, a sound and logical decision cannot be made using his ideas.

Furthermore, once we dive into the actual proposal we come to another bump in the road: How will this change affect the whole island economically? Sure, it may reduce the amount of accidents, but will it have other unforeseen effects across the island? If the population increases every summer, that must have a positive impact on the economy of the island. One would presume, the residents and businesses may depend on this economic boost from visitors. What was the effect this decision had on the island of Seaville? The author fails to provide evidence of the consequences this decision may have. Again, there seems to be a necessity change a few things, but without evidence it’s hard to believe the author’s argument will help.

Lastly, the recommendation itself is that by reducing the number of rentals per day from 50 to 25 will attain a 50 percent annual reduction as it did in Seaville. Once again, Seaville is a different island, they may be similar, but are not replicas of each other. Also, how would reducing the number of rentals lead to a 50 percent reduction? Has the author considered that perhaps the majority of visitors may be owners of mopeds? If there are 500 visitors per day, and only 50 of them rent mopeds, then reducing the number to 25 won’t make a big difference. There will be 475 mopeds in circulation. So, logically speaking, unless the author provides data, his assumption is unwarranted.

A suggestion that reducing moped rentals from 50 to 25 per day will reduce by 50 percent the annual rate of accidents would be a good idea if it had the foundation to stand scrutiny. Once inspected, the author implies that because similar actions were taken in a neighboring town, the same actions will have the same effect in Balmer Island. Nonetheless, due to the lack of evidence to support the author’s argument, it’s hard to see how effective such actions will be to improve the moped situation in the island.