The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper.

"The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure fair prices for consumers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the argument, the author concludes that the retail milk prices should be controlled by the Batavia Government to ensure a proper pricing of goods for the consumers. The author landed on this idea based on a report made by the department of agriculture of Batavia and comparing the price change of milk at the local Excello Food market in a 10 years time period. Although the author’s conclusion may prove to be true, as it currently stands, the author must provide pieces of evidence for three unjustified assumptions if he wants to be more persuasive.

Firstly, the author assumes that the report given by the department of agriculture in Batavia is done in a precise, scientific manner. Perhaps, that may not be the case. For example, if the report was done by people who are not properly trained to collect data from different sources accurately, the report would be faulty and be of no use. In addition, even if the report was gathered properly, it might not have considered farms that have closed down during the 10 years, which would contribute to the price hike of retail milk products. If any of the above circumstances are found to be true, it can diminish the credibility of the author’s argument.

Moreover, the author, without any proper evidence, assumes that increased price of the retail milk in Excello Food Market, is a reflection of a continuous trend that will persist in Batavia. In some cases, it may not be true. For instance, maybe this trend is temporary, and the prices have gone up only in the recent few years due to a certain scarcity of a product that is used to produce milk containers. Also, maybe the prices of Excello Food Market is an exception and in the other markets the prices are not inflated that much compared to the previously mentioned market. If these two scenarios are found true, the persuasiveness of the author’s memoranda will not hold water.

Finally, in the argument, the author assumes that the production cost of producing milk has remained the same over the span of 10 years. In many cases, this may not true. If we see that the maintenance cost of the machines that are used in the industries of Batavia had increased, that would certainly put a dent on the prices of the milk products. Also, there might be an increase in labor cost, for instance, the government of Batavia might have fixed a minimum wage for the workers, which may have contributed to the inflation of milk prices. Again, there may also be an increase in taxes, which can also influence the prices to up. If these speculations are found to be authentic, then the author’s argument will fail to make a persuasive case for the Batavia government.

In conclusion, it may be true that the Batavia government should regulate the prices of milk products for the consumers, to make a compelling case for the government, the author must provide additional pieces of evidence regarding the above three assumptions to make a strong, valid argument.