The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper.

"The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure fair prices for consumers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the letter suggests that the Batavia government implement regulation on retail milk prices to protect the rights for consumers. This argument is based on a series of assumptions involving growth of dairy farms, increase in milk price as well as supply of milk. We should scrutinize these assumptions, together with the reasoning process behind, to evaluate the soundness of this advice on price control.

The author assumes that the increase in milk supply, with the increase in its price, reflects that milk farmers are gaining exorbitant profits now. This deduction, however, ignores effect of demand on the market: what if the number of milk consumers mounted up significantly during the last decade? More consumers would also drive up the milk price. Moreover, the percentage of change in milk farmer is not convincing enough. If the original base number of domestic milk suppliers is small, then even for 25 percent growth, the corresponding influence on milk price would be negligible compared with other factors. To ensure the effect of supply side, further investigation as more concrete statistics about the change of dairy farms and their consumers in absolute value is necessary.

Another reasoning, that the rise of milk price from $1.5 to $3.0 indicate the control over dairy price is need, is not sound enough. If the economy of Batavia is booming during the last decade, then inflation of prices on daily items is unavoidable. To prove that the current milk price is exorbitant, we need data reflecting the overall price level in Batavia to serve as a comparison. On the other side, if the average income of Batavia citizens also doubled in the past ten years, this increase in milk price is be reasonable, while government interference on price control would be redundant.

It is also worth noting that the author premises that the increase of domestic dairy farms means the “apparent increase” in nationwide milk supply. This argument, however, forgets the potential effect of imported products. One scenario could be that Batavia has been heavily relied on foreign dairy supply, while domestic dairy product only consists a small proportion of its entire market. Under such circumstance, imposing regulations on retail milk prices towards domestic farmers could hardly be effective, and this policy may also discourage Batavian farmers to produce dairy product, thus precipitating the nations reliance on milk imports.

By the analysis above, before enacting regulations on milk retail, the Batavia government need to collect more information about its domestic dairy market on both supply and demand side, as well as on import of dairy products. Only after extensive investigation could we reach a more reliable and accurate conclusion concerning price control.