The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper.

"The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure fair prices for consumers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument claims that the price of milk at the local Excello FOOD Market has increased 1.5 dollar and according to the report of the department of agriculture in Batavia the number of dairy farms throughout the country increased 25% and all of those has happened during 10 years. In this letter the editor also mentions that the farmer gets extravagant profits and Batavia government should regulate retail milk price with this the government also ensure adequate supply of milk for consumers. Narrated in this way argument fails to propose several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. Despite the suggestions made by the report is incredible as the argument is not well-reasoned due to the presence of various logical fallacious.

First, the argument readily assumes that now local farmers receive 100% profit per gallon. 10 years ago the price was $1.5 per gallon and now it is $3 per gallon. The arguer also stated that during this 10 years time period the number of dairy farm also increased 25%. The statement is a stretch because the arguer did not mention how much profit the farmers get 10 years ago and how much they get now. To estimate profit it is necessity to know price and also the cost of the product. For example, 10 years ago may be the dairy farming cost such as cattle food, medicine is low and now those costs are higher. Clearly, in this argument there has no relation the increasing number of dairy farm and milk price or profit. The argument could have been much clearer if it explicitly stated the sell price and cost price per gallon of milk.

Secondly, the argument claims that during 10 years period the number of dairy farm had increased 25%. Despite the abundant supply of milk at the local Excello FOOD Market, the farmers receive excessive profits. This is again a very weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between number of dairy firm and profit. This time period the number of population also increases. For increasing number of population demand for milk also increases. So it is implausible to say that there have abundant supply of milk in the market and that's why there have no relation of low price of milk. If the argument had provided evidence that the demand per person and exact figure of population and production of milk that local farmers sell at local market then the argument would have been a lot more cogent.

Finally, in this given argument the reporter recommends to the Batavia government to regulate retail milk price for both lowering the price and ensuring the profuse supply of milk for consumers. What is the relation between need per person of milk and how much availability of milk at local market 10 years ago and now? what is the selling price and cost price 10 years ago and now? Without cogent answers to those questions, one is left with the impression that the claim is more of a desirous thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above mentioned reasons and is therefore unpersuasive. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts of selling price and production cost price of milk; availability of milk at local market and demand. It is indispensable to have full idea of all contributing factors to appraise the merits of a certain decision. Without the right information, this argument is pure speculation and cannot be justified.